Search

How's it all going with your preparation for ACET 2015?

• Public
Started by Leah 05 Jun 2015 9:40pm () Replies (9)

After attending the NZEI meeting last night - I was completely confused.... Going in, I really thought I was an exemplary teacher. After the meeting, I walked out thinking that I wasn't. Did anyone else feel like this?

I have created a lot of different projects in my school - I'm the head of ICT and have created MTV awards and a Film Festival (both up-skilling children and teachers in digital tech), I have created a walking school bus, developed a digital citizenship model for the school and other bits and pieces.... but I'm thinking that these innovations won't stand up in my portfolio because they aren't directly related to improving student outcomes in curriculum areas - is that true? I'm really lost... I'm also a bit sad because we can't put our portfolio in a clear file or a folder - bit annoying! 

I am grateful though - that we aren't competing against each other, and that we are all capable of getting the ACET allowance if our portfolios are up to scratch!

What does everyone else think of the 2015 process? Can we help each other?

Replies

• MWT64 (View all users posts) 06 Jun 2015 6:54am ()

Why don't you take the angle of how creating a 'film' or storytelling for your filmfest helps children.

Children do not come up with a storytelling idea without writing or reading prior. So it has to improve their achievement/engagement somehow? 

Go down that path. 

Of course you are exemplary teacher! The things you have done shows that. I am sure most of us are feeling a little insecure. You just have to break your achievements down to how it is really helping the kids.

Goodluck

• Joy Kitt (View all users posts) 06 Jun 2015 4:56pm ()