Search

Using digital technologies to communicate with whānau

• Public
Started by Chris McLean 23 Mar 2015 3:08pm () Replies (18)

What Social Media / apps are schools using to communicate with parents/ community? Has anyone done away completely with paper newsletters?

Have you surveyed parents to find out what works best for them? If so, what was the response?

Replies

• Deanna Young (View all users posts) 23 Mar 2015 6:49pm ()

Hi Chris,

I have communicated with my parents through the class dojo App and on my class blog. They are great ways of passing on last minute notices to parents.

• Jo Maguire (View all users posts) 23 Mar 2015 7:16pm ()

I am new to blogs and wikis and would like to know if people use Facebook to communicate with parents. I was thinking of setting up a closed group for my class( which I start in Term 2)  I know early childhood centres are doing this and parents can see what is going on quickly. What do other people do? 

• Warren Grieve (View all users posts) 23 Mar 2015 7:24pm ()

What age group of pupils are you working with?

SeeSaw ipads is great for young. Blogs are fantastic for older (ipad and computer)

• Jo Maguire (View all users posts) 23 Mar 2015 7:53pm ()

I am working with NE/Yr 1. I was thinking more of a communication mode to set up the Facebook page. Children to contribute their work is it best on a blog , wiki or any other suggestions?

• Sue Perry (View all users posts) 23 Mar 2015 10:18pm ()

We use StoryPark and have ePortfolios. You can do group posts, or duplicate posts, so you wouldn't have to do a post for each individual child. It is great, so easy to use and has awesome support in terms of the 'help' desk.

• Tony Cairns (View all users posts) 23 Mar 2015 11:27pm ()