Search

School Readiness Assessments

• Public
Started by Angelee Jarrett 22 Feb 2015 9:24am () Replies (9)

Do any schools / teachers out there use the SEA (School Entrance Assessment) to assess school readiness and help provide formative assessment for teaching and learning?  If so, how do you administer this?  Where do you record/store results?  How do you use the information?  If not, why not?  Do you use a different form of assessment?

Also, is there a school readiness assessment in New Zealand that has proven effective and comprehensive?  

I hope this will provide for interesting conversation in the NE Group on VLN!

Replies

• Eve Jones (View all users posts) 22 Feb 2015 11:34am ()

i am a Y1 teacher and my school uses SEA. it is carried out by another teacher or TA as this is a one to one assessment. I use the data to plan for and group my kids according to their strengths and identified needs / gaps. As to what happens to the info; i keep a copy and the data is used to check and track that the kids are making progress,

• Shona Hoffman (View all users posts) 23 Feb 2015 11:57am ()

Our school uses the Observation Survey (Marie Clay), and JOST (an oral language survey) and JAM. It is administered by the classroom teacher because the observations are so valuable in understanding the learner. Watching a child record writing is fascinating. Do they use letters or squiggles? Do they record left to right? Do they have any sense of the connection between letters and sounds?

We release the teacher for each survey which is carried out during the child's fifth week at school. We chose this time so the child had relaxed about their new environment, had a relationship forming with their teacher and had had a chance to experience reading and writing at school but still mostly relied on prior knowledge.