Search

Tertiary study study in 2015

Started by Graham Hall 06 Aug 2014 10:49am () Replies (9)

What is available in 2015 for post grad study in E learning? Where are people going? Can any current student recommend their programme?

Replies

• Rachel Whalley (View all users posts) 06 Aug 2014 11:05am ()

Hi Graham

Any of the tertiaries have postgrad in eLearning, so it is pretty much take your pick. As they are all online it doesn't matter where you choose. I did my post grad diploma ed technologies with Massey, this was historical as i had got my teaching degree there. I would have continued my masters there if my favourite professors were there - Bill Anderson & Mark Brown - now retired & working overseas. I have continued my Masters with Waikato, as they are 'local' to me and I also know people who are studying and teaching there. 

It was a toss up between Waikato, Otago & Canterbury. And as noone responded to my queries from the 2nd two institutions i decided to throw my hat in with Waikato.

I really liked Massey library services, particularly for the Freepost return option on all books and resources. Because it was so convenient i also did lots of personal reading borrowing over the holiday breaks too. Waikato doesn't do this library return option i have to pay for their return postage myself or drop them into the campus (over an hour away at Tauranga). So this limits what i request from the library. 

I am sure everyone will have their different preferences.

Good luck

Rachel :-)

• Doug Drysdale (View all users posts) 06 Aug 2014 11:21am ()

I did some of my studies through Massey when Bill and Mark were there as well they were certainly well up with the educational aspects of using digital technology.