Search

Flash

• Public
Started by Roomone Ladysnows 02 Aug 2014 6:21am () Replies (9)

Hi, I am quite new to iPads in the classroom but am ticking along driving my own pd in this area. My question is what is everyone else doing about flash. As I understand it, iPads don't support flash so therefore my kids can't access cool stuff on study ladder etc that require flash player. We only have 2 desktop macs which is great and many kids have their own ipad and we have 8 iPads in the class anyway. Do I just need to suck this up so to speak or am I missing something when I comes to flash. I am thinking that  we just can't use activiities that require flash and I am annoyed about it. Please let me know if this is the case. Thank you.

Replies

• Lisette Whitmore (View all users posts) 04 Aug 2014 4:18pm ()

Studyladder is moving to a lot of i-Padfriendly activities...so yes you will have to suck it up. Last year we went in through Puffin and it worked...don't know if that works this year though.

• Stuart Hale (View all users posts) 02 Aug 2014 1:34pm ()

Hi I would like to build on what Allanah has stated. . .

Flash was never designed for Tablets (Most Tablets do not run Flash) Adobe who makes Flash will not support it on Tablets!

Flash is a bit like the Dinosaur just prior to extinction - it will not be around for much longer. By the end of next year up to 80% of Web bowsing will be from a Tablet (iPad) and if you want your web site to be around you are now in the process of converting across from Flash to the alternatives (HTML5) that is iPad (Tablet) compatible

So would not spend too much time finding a solution for a temporary problem! - that will be fixed by most web sites themselves.

• Allanah King (View all users posts) 02 Aug 2014 12:25pm ()

Hi there

Welcome to the iPad group.