Search

how to manage a 2 ipad/classroom?

• Public
Started by pjolr 20 May 2013 3:55pm () Replies (7)

Hi I'm a Year 2/3 teacher. We have just brought ipads in our school this year. We only have 2 per classroom in a full primary. Any suggestions for how to make the most of them?

Thanks

Replies

• Monika Kern (View all users posts) 20 May 2013 4:18pm ()

Hi, have a look at this - 5 Free Apps for Classrooms with a Single iPad | Fluency21 – Committed Sardine Blog (looks like their server is down right now, I couldn't get to the page at this moment but I've beent here before). There will be lots of great suggestions coming your way ont he VLN, this is just a quick one to start you off :-) Cheers, Monika

• Jill Hammonds (View all users posts) 20 May 2013 4:29pm ()

Hi there,

iPads are great for your writing and reading programmes so can be part of a group rotation.  For example you might use them for 2-3 chn per iPad to watch an interesting Youtube movie as motivation for writing and harvesting of vocabulary, and to then use Google presentation to recreate a story. For example there is a great video of a bald eagle (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hecXupPpE9o) catching a salmon that they could watch and focus on the wings, feet/claws and beak and how they use these to catch and devour their prey.  They could freeze frame some of the video to capture pictures and then make their presentation into a story.

Pic Collage is a free app where they can combine pictures, drawings and text to create their own stories.

Popplet Lite is a great mindmapping app they could use to plan their storywriting and its so simple they can teach themselves how to use it - just double tap the screen to get started.  You could also use this app to storyboard a drama and then capture the drama using Sock Puppets.

Use the Voicethread app to tell their stories and then share on their blogs to get audience feedback.