Search

Chromebooks

• Public
Started by Fiona Robertson 10 May 2013 8:32pm () Replies (8)

Hi we are looking at chromebooks at our school. I am wanting to know what the benefits of them are? What are the downsides of them? does anyone have examples of programs or items that students have created using them. 

Thanks Fiona

Replies

• Helen Prescott (View all users posts) 29 Sep 2013 4:29pm ()

Vicki,

Glad it was helpful.  Sounds like we are in a similar situation to you, with a range of devices and some big decisions to make around our next steps.  I have to keep going back to what does the learning look like (the why), and how do the devices support that. I've been researching the SAMR model for 8 months now which has really opened my eyes to a way forward with making that 'shift' in teachers thinking which is so critical.  Happy to talk more, email me at helenp@sunnyhills.school.nz.

• Innes Kennard (View all users posts) 29 Sep 2013 5:05pm ()

Totally agree Helen. The more I explore SAMR with teachers the better the contexts they develop for some of the digital decisions they make and the better their understanding of why they use certain apps and approaches. We need to keep our eye on the development of rich media that contains significant student voice, has real qualities of individual ownership and can integrate text, images, drawing, audio, video and pull them all together into a cohesive resource that is editable, manageable and shareable. This needs to be possible at 5. Start with the vision.

• Gerard Macmanus (View all users posts) 30 Sep 2013 6:06pm ()

@Helen, are you going to share some of your research on thw SAMR model? We are preparing for the change at year 9, The SAMR model is one that Orewa college are using and the lead teachers at school would like some more information.

• Helen Prescott (View all users posts) 30 Sep 2013 8:35pm ()

@Gerard  Absolutely.  I have presented twice online and am about to present at ULearn.