Search

help with apps for sounding and number knowledge.

• Public
Started by Kimberlie Cording 22 Apr 2013 9:27pm () Replies (5)

Hi all

I am a kiwi teacher working with a 5 yr old in Dubai, UAE who is reluctant to sound words out.....pressure is on here to perform for entrance into a school.....no state paid schooling here!

Looking for some great apps for the ipad that coud support this and maybe some great number ones too! Need to work with the child on this one.

Replies

• ian suckling (View all users posts) 23 Apr 2013 7:15am ()

Hi, I'm sure you know about this one, but I find it great for my 5 yr old daughter.

Starfall isn't an app, although I notice that with a browser like Rover, you can use it on an ipad (it uses flash) http://www.starfall.com/ (it is searchable in the apps store). I like that it has exercises in letter and blend sounds with associated stories that use these same sounds. For some strange reason, my daughter loves the simple animated pictures in the stories!

There seems to be good progression through the exercises from simple sounds to harder ones. Of course the fact that you can click on the words and letters and the software speaks the sound is helpful too. 

Cheers I

• Desert.blonde (View all users posts) 23 Apr 2013 10:18am ()

Hi there,

Can you tell me the nationality of the student as this can make a big difference to the way they respond to things? 

There are several apps for autism which encourage speaking and matching which could be quite useful. You could try 'Connect Cards', which is one that I have found is simple and effective, or 'Communications', which is a similiar app (both of which are free).

As for the maths, 'Number Magic2' and Rubber Chicken 'Tens Frame' are excellent. If you are looking at basic addition etc then, 'Number Lines' is a great start to simple equations.