Search

Teaching Photography to 8 to 10 year olds this winter in school. Is Guided Access broken?

• Public
Started by jonathan7007 18 Dec 2012 12:17am () Replies (9)

I have joined this group to her other's ideas and share mine. There are details below but I have a big pressing question:

Is the Guided Access code in iOS6 so broken I cannot reliably use it with a classroom full of kids? Is there a bigger problem with iOS 6.0.1?

I am a long-time photographer (pro) and until recently upper elementary teacher. My last school here in Hawaii. USA, offered me a chance to teach photography to the 4th and 5th kids starting in January, and they have a set of iPads(v3). These little workshops would have to be 40-minute sessions, and unfortunately spaced a week apart.

These kids need to experience thinking and planning. Yes, there's a place for spontaneous shooting, but I am going to fit this into the same process that writing requires: an idea, first draft, critical eye, second draft, flexibility, more refinement, do it again. In other words, focus on the aesthetic process. So any "filters" (a la Instagram, etc.) are out -- at least at first. I will be using what are known as core standards, partly to fit this into "school" and partly to retain credibility and give the tiny program some clout and longevity if I should want to do it for a while. This underpinning is important to school administrators for good reason in today's environment.

These students will be 9 and 10-year-olds with no experience of photography or looking seriously at a picture, much less asked to articulate their thoughts about it. Most (85%?) will NOT have handled an iPad -- ever. Many of them, when presented with something new or -- when unsure of the next step -- and not guided one-on-one -- will jump over to playing with the iPad (completely natural reaction for all ages, BTW). So I need three things:

-A guided (limited) path through a few steps (Guided Access routines in iOS6)