Search

Choosing a suitable MLE

• Public
Started by Monika Kern 25 Mar 2012 12:31pm () Replies (29)

Hi there, I'm fairly new to VLN but trying hard to get up to speed :)

I work at a Decile 1 Intermediate in the Far North. I would like to run my computing class web based, and advice in a different group was to look at moodle or similar. The MoE website lists three providers for MLEs, KnowledgeNET, Ultranet and Moodle. We have also received information from a 'new to NZ' firm offering EduSpot.

How do we choose the most suitable MLE??? Money is an issue (goes without saying). Any advice would be MUCH appreciated!!!!!

By the way, EduSpot run a webinar on Wednesday 28 March 12:00

Link: https://promo-manager.server-secure.com/ch/7360/r9nb4m/484293/3a1199zcm.html

Meeting Number: 620 618 844

Meeting Password: eduspot

Many thanks in advance, Monika

Replies

• Nick Ford (View all users posts) 28 Mar 2012 12:30pm ()

For me decisions such as the one you pose require the consideration of a couple of separate but related domains before specific choices can be made.

The domains are:

Pedagogy

How will the use of this technology support and or extend learner success and/or your professional practice.

From the information you have shared in this forum I have the sense that you already have contemplated this and have a vision of what it is that you wish to achieve.

Technology form and function

In order to make an informed choice an understanding of the form and function of the technologies under consideration is required.

The only real way to do this is to get your “hands dirty” with each potential solution. This has resourcing implications for yourself and your school.

Once one has a sense of technology form and function this can be mapped to the pedagogical goals.