Search

Choosing a suitable MLE

• Public
Started by Monika Kern 25 Mar 2012 12:31pm () Replies (29)

Hi there, I'm fairly new to VLN but trying hard to get up to speed :)

I work at a Decile 1 Intermediate in the Far North. I would like to run my computing class web based, and advice in a different group was to look at moodle or similar. The MoE website lists three providers for MLEs, KnowledgeNET, Ultranet and Moodle. We have also received information from a 'new to NZ' firm offering EduSpot.

How do we choose the most suitable MLE??? Money is an issue (goes without saying). Any advice would be MUCH appreciated!!!!!

By the way, EduSpot run a webinar on Wednesday 28 March 12:00

Link: https://promo-manager.server-secure.com/ch/7360/r9nb4m/484293/3a1199zcm.html

Meeting Number: 620 618 844

Meeting Password: eduspot

Many thanks in advance, Monika

Replies

• Victoria Field (View all users posts) 25 Mar 2012 12:45pm ()

Hi,

We rolled ours out last August and uptake has been fairly good. I am used to working with Moodle and that was the platform we adopted.

Moodle has fairly decent help sites

http://docs.moodle.org/22/en/About_Moodle_FAQ

and can be installed on your school server with a minimum of fuss. A hosted alternative can be expensive, what IT support do you have?

My partner's school are trialling using this LMS

http://www.edmodo.com/

But it looks as if it will not be free forever but might enable you to at least get started, plus it is hosted for you.

I would advise, that if you have the time to learn and someone to help with the server side issues to try Moodle.

If you want to look at how a moodle can be used as a messageboard, have a look at the front page of ours to give you some ideas

http://cn.waiuku-college.school.nz/

An LMS is a big undertaking and ideally you will need to be given some time to plan, execute and maintain it, plus train other staff.

Hope this helps a little bit

• Tania (View all users posts) 25 Mar 2012 1:11pm ()