Search

Does Creativity Require Constraints?

• Public
Started by Tessa Gray 17 Feb 2012 12:01pm () Replies (2)

I stumbled across this post a few days ago Does Creativity Require Constraints? It bought back memories of a debate last year, about whether providing examples, exemplars, guidelines for others to follow would stifle creativity

As an ex art teacher, I find the whole idea of creativity both interesting and challenging. I have always loved the Elliot. W Eisner’s quote, which is similar to, ‘First you learn the rules, then you can bend the rule, break the rules and make your own rules.’ 

The blog post Does Creativity Require Constraints? is along similar vein, but presents the idea that constraints (the right kind) can promote creativity.

“Paradoxically, when people are given free reign to solve a problem, they tend to be wholly uncreative, focusing on what’s worked best in the past. This is due to the fundamental nature of human cognition: to imagine the future we generate what we already know from the past. According to Stokes, such freedom can hinder creativity, whereas the strategic use of constraints can promote creativity.”

Four different types of contraints (criteria) are explained that would help develop creativeness in both adults and children.

“This research on constraints suggests that there are various constraints, each step of the way, which impact this transition.”

As well mentoring and feedback, one might assume having guidelines, exemplars and models would aide in the development of creativity. Some interesting considerations to ponder in relation to creativity for the gifted/talented - in fact for all students.

Replies

• Mary St George (View all users posts) 18 May 2012 10:10pm ()